Understanding Workers’ Rights After On-The-Job Injuries

Understanding Workers’ Rights After On-The-Job Injuries

It’s just another day on the job, that is until an injury accident happens. When you are injured while at work in Florida, you must tell your supervisor or your employer that an accident happened that hurt you as soon as possible. If your injuries are severe and you need immediate medical attention, then once you can inform your work of the incident you should. This is because Florida’s workers’ compensation laws say that you only have 30 days to let your employer know your accident and injuries happened. If you fail to alert your employer within the 30-day timeframe, then you may not be able to get the compensation you need for your damages.

Although an accident at work must be reported 30 days after it occurs, to file a claim, an injured worker is given two years from the date the accident happened to take action.

Due to the rules and complexities that exist within the Florida workers’ compensation system, it is imperative that you ensure everything is done right. The good news is that if you don’t know your rights or what you are supposed to do, you are allowed to have an attorney help you. In Florida, injured workers can obtain assistance from the Tampa personal injury attorneys at Fulgencio Law.

Your Rights After a Workplace Injury in Florida

Understanding Workers' Rights After On-The-Job InjuriesYour employer’s workers’ compensation insurance will provide a physician for you to be evaluated after your injury accident. And, all of the medical expenses that come about as a result of your accident will be covered by your employer’s workers’ compensation coverage. This would include hospital stays, medical testing, medications, doctor’s examinations, and more.

Though, you are not stuck with what the doctor your employer assigns to you has to say about your injuries. If you are unsatisfied with this physician, you are allowed under the law to choose a new doctor. It is important to know that a change in physicians can only be done one time.

When your injuries are severe enough to keep you away from work for an extended period of time, then it is possible to obtain a portion of the wages you will miss while out of work. The amount of money you may receive can vary, but once you have been out of work for some time, usually seven days, then your wage benefits should kick in.

While workers’ compensation will help you with some of your expenses after a workplace injury accident and filing a claim generally will not allow you to file a legal suit against your employer, that does not mean you are barred from suits against other parties. In some situations, third-party negligence could have contributed to your accident and as a result, you may be also able to file a claim against these third-party entities for the full amount of compensation you need and are owed.

Speak to Fulgencio Law Today

If you are unsure about what your rights are after you’re injured while at work or while you were working, speaking with an attorney can be beneficial. 

Call a Fulgencio Law today to learn more at (813) 463-0123. Initial consultations are free.

Share this post