Florida DUI Laws

Florida DUI Laws

Florida DUI Laws

If you have been the victim of a car accident in Florida involving a DUI (driving under the influence), you have a legal right to representation and compensation to help pay for your recovery and your losses. For those accused of causing the devastating accident, the penalties can be harsh and depend on a variety of factors, including without limitation, the blood alcohol level of those involved, whether the DUI involved an accident with injuries, whether there were any children present in your vehicle, the driving history of those involved, and any previous DUI convictions.

With the help of an experienced Florida car accident injury lawyer, you can ensure that the negligent parties are held responsible and face the consequences of their actions – including providing just compensation under the law. If you have been the victim of a DUI automobile accident in Florida, you should contact the Florida car crash attorneys at Fulgencio Law immediately.

DUI Penalties in Florida

Florida DUI LawsFlorida DUI accidents come with severe consequences for those who put others in needless danger and chose to drive while intoxicated. These punishments include suspension of the person’s driver’s license, a permanent criminal record, vehicle impoundment, probation, community service, and required attendance at DUI school.  The following is a look at what those accused of driving while intoxicated face after causing an accident.

First DUI Conviction

Fines

  • If the driver’s blood alcohol level was more than 0.08, they can be charged with fines between $500 and $1,000
  • If their blood alcohol was greater than .15, the fines range from $1,000 to $2,000

Jail Time

    • If their blood alcohol level was greater than 0.08, they could be sentenced from 8 hours to 6 months in jail

 

  • This jail time increases up to 9 months if their blood alcohol level was greater than .15 or greater.

 

Additional Penalties

  • Up to 50 hours of community service
  • One Year of Probation
  • Loss of their driver’s license from 180 days to 1 year

Second DUI Conviction

  • A fine of $1,000 up to $2,000.  However, if their blood alcohol level is greater than 0.15 or if there was a minor in their car, the minimum fine is $2,000 up to $4,000
  • If their second conviction is within five years of their first, there is a mandatory jail term of no less than 10 days
  • Probation from 6 months up to 1 year
  • Their driver’s license could be suspended for up to 5 years and they could be required to install an interlock device on their vehicle
  • Impoundment of their vehicle for up to 30 days
  • Financial penalties, including payment of any property damage and medical bills for personal injuries sustained by victims of a DUI crash
  • DUI school and alcohol treatment classes

Third DUI Conviction

  • A minimum fine of $2,000 up to $5,000.  The minimum fine is $4,000 if their blood alcohol level is greater than 0.15 or if there was a minor in their car at the time you were charged
  • A prison term of up to 5 years.  If the third offense DUI is within 10 years of their previous offense, they will face a mandatory minimum sentence of 30 days in jail
  • A license suspension of up to 10 years and a vehicle impound of up to 90 days
  • Required installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Serious consequences for their criminal record, including a possible felony conviction
  • Financial penalties including restitution for any damages such as vehicle damage and injuries caused by driving under the influence.
  • Community service up to 50 hours

Fourth DUI Conviction

  • Fine of $2,000 up to $5,000
  • Imprisonment of up to 5 years along with up to 5 years of probation
  • Lifetime suspension of their driver’s license
  • A felony conviction on their criminal record
  • Up to 50 hours of community service
  • Alcohol treatment and Florida DUI school

Contact an Experienced Florida DUI Accident Attorney

The Florida DUI accident lawyers at Fulgencio Law are here to help when you injured in a DUI crash in Tampa. We have the skills and experience needed to offer a strong defense and hold those responsible accountable for their reckless actions. Call us now at 813.463.0123 or fill out our consultation form for your free case evaluation.

Share this post