Florida Car Accident FAQTampa Bay Legal News
The Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Department reported that in 2021 there were well over 400,000 car accidents across the state. These crashes resulted in 3,737 deaths and 252,973 people injured. Car accidents in Florida are a serious problem and if you or a loved one plans to drive in the state, it can be helpful to understand what happens after a car crash and what Florida car accident laws are.
Each state in the nation has its own laws regarding procedures and rules for what victims of car accidents can do to recover compensation. In Florida, if you have questions about your legal rights and your ability to obtain financial compensation for your losses, the Tampa car accident attorneys at Fulgencio Law can review the details of your accident with you and provide you with options for recompense.
Helpful Tips to Know About Florida Car Accidents
Drivers in Florida can benefit greatly from understanding the rules of the road in the state. Below are some of the most frequently asked questions about driving in Florida and car accidents:
What are Florida car insurance requirements?
Florida drivers are required to have a minimum of $10,000 in personal injury protection and $10,000 in property damage liability coverage. Bodily injury liability coverage is optional.
What are Florida car accident reporting guidelines?
Florida car accident reporting rules indicate that when a crash causes an injury, death, or $500 or more in property damages it must be reported. Otherwise, it is possible to complete a Driver Report of Traffic Crash.
Do victims of car accidents need to have an attorney to obtain compensation?
No, having an attorney is not a requirement but it is highly recommended. A legal professional will know how to accurately assess the full amount of damages a victim has suffered and be able to fight on their behalf to ensure they are compensated fairly. Working with an attorney increases car accident injury victims’ chances of not only being successful with their claims but also obtaining the highest amount of compensation possible from them.
What are Florida’s Fault Laws?
Florida is a no-fault insurance state so when a car accident happens, victims look to their own PIP insurance coverage for compensation. However, when damages are substantial, it may be possible to file a claim against the other driver that was responsible for causing the collision. Some examples of where it could be possible to file a claim against another driver would be if a victim was paralyzed, or in the event that a death resulted from the crash. Having an attorney on your side when you are filing a claim against a negligent driver can help the complicated process move along much more smoothly.
Speak with a Florida Car Accident Attorney Today
Car accidents can leave victims with extensive physical bodily harm, destroyed property, and many more damages. Obtaining the highest amount of compensation from your injury claim is essential. Call Fulgencio Law today to schedule a free consultation where you can speak with an experienced attorney at (813) 463-0123.